Foggy Morning

Clarity, direction, a clear head and a clear path. That’s what I’ve been praying for lately.

Last week I told a friend that my mind feels foggy and that this is a problem. I want to see farther. I want the whole picture. Sometimes I just want to know it all and get my act together.

But today I actually walked in the fog and learned something new. I could only see what was directly in front of me and around me. Everything else was hidden. Can you see the freedom in that? See how I can notice one leaf, one thread on the spider web, one crack in the sidewalk that I wouldn’t have noticed otherwise?

There is grace in not having everything all at one time, in having some things clouded from view so that all you can see is this one step, now , and then the next.

Maybe this is the way to see more clearly after all.

Joelbock

Photo by my talented friend Joel Bock. Used with permission. Please do not steal it without asking him.

16 thoughts on “Foggy Morning

  1. So beautifully put, Leah. I love the Psalm about His Word being a lamp for my feet . . .and a light for my path. He knows we can’t handle the big picture, so the Light doesn’t’t shine very far . . but just enough. Thanks for sharing your foggy observations. I love you.

  2. i’m walking in the fog right now too. it’s so foggy i feel lost. so i’ve decided to be proactive about it. instead of waiting for the fog to clear, i’m going to write a little something everyday. i don’t know if it’ll help or not but probably this will leave threads and clues along the way so that i get more ideas of what the bigger picture turns out to be.

    i like your way of seeing things. it provides me with another perspective.

  3. Clarity has been eluding me too. I know what I want, but the stars are not aligning to help me get there. I feel like people think I can’t handle what I want to do with my life so they’re not going to do anything to help me succeed. It’s really hard to not have that support. It doesn’t do much for the self-confidence.

  4. Have been feeling this fog too ( as I do at times…it’s an ebb and flow). I meet looked at the foggy times this way though. Insightful and beautiful. Thank you

  5. Dear Chelangat, your wise words are underlined with this wonderful photo. You give us a good example that quite a short text is enough to open up our minds to new ideas and insights. Rethinking your view on the fog makes me feel that you have opened my eyes for this aspect. Maybe too often we are eager to see everything around us, to get the overall panoramic view. And in the end we fail to see the beautiful details around us. Your example of the spider web is good. Let me add, a spider web covered with the drips of the morning dew. Of course, we must not fail to understand that the fog may also conceal dangers around us and ahead of us – every responsible car driver will agree – but there are situations in which it is a pleasure to see the small and close things around us, and nothing more.

  6. I’d love it if you’re right about that clarity being in the moment, with what’s right in front of us. Sometimes the sense of so many missing pieces can be overwhelming. I don’t know. Maybe it’s the very gloomy day around me, or the fall chill, but this post was perfectly fitting and soothing.

    http://livinglikeaudrey.com/

Leave a Reply

